2023 Rugby World Cup

Key info to enjoy the upcoming tournament.

We are now fast approaching the 2023 Rugby World Cup – the tenth instalment of the iconic global tournament, with France playing the role of host this time around.

As 20 nations prepare to descend onto the quadrennial rugby union world championship, we wanted to provide fans with an all-you-need-to-know guide on what to expect from France 2023.

When is the Rugby World Cup 2023?

The Rugby World Cup kicks off on September 8 and runs until October 28. Originally, the tournament was supposed to only last six weeks, but World Rugby made the decision to add an extra seven days to provide safer rest periods between each game for player welfare.

Where is the Rugby World Cup 2023?

The tenth Rugby World Cup is set to return to France for the third time, following their hosting duties in both 1991 and 2007. However, this will be the first-ever tournament to be held entirely in France. Both the opening game (France vs New Zealand) and the final will take place at the Stade de France in Paris. Nine different venues have been selected to showcase the best Rugby Union the world has to offer, with locations including Nice, Marseille, Lyon, Lille, Bordeaux, Nantes, Toulouse, and Saint Etienne.

Who won the last Rugby World Cup?

The defending champions are South Africa, after they beat England 32-12 in the 2019 Rugby World Cup Final in Japan.

Who is playing in the 2023 Rugby World Cup?

20 nations will descend on France this summer to take part in the tournament, which happens to take place in the bicentenary year of the year the sport was said to be invented by William Webb Ellis. These teams are split into four pools:

Pool A: New Zealand, France, Italy, Uruguay, Namibia

Pool B: South Africa, Ireland, Scotland, Tonga, Romania

Pool C: Wales, Australia, Fiji, Georgia, Portugal

Pool D: England, Japan, Argentina, Samoa, Chile

2023 will mark the first-ever appearance for Chile, while Portugal makes just their second-ever Rugby World Cup, 16 years after their debut.

How does the 2023 Rugby World Cup format work?

The teams in each pool play every other team in their pool in a round-robin style. The top two teams qualify for the knockout stages. The knockouts consist of three elimination rounds – the quarter-finals, the semi-finals, and the final.

How will the Foul Play Review Bunker work at the Rugby World Cup?

The Foul Play Review Bunker will be used in France for the Rugby World Cup to improve the flow of the game when a foul is deemed to have been committed. The on-pitch referees and TMO will still be used to judge and review decisions. However, if they are unable to judge whether an incident warrants a red card from replays on the big screen, they will brandish a yellow card and cross their arms to signal the FPR Bunker. The FPRO will then have up to eight minutes to make the decision.

Who are the favourites to win the 2023 Rugby World Cup?

New Zealand are favourites to reclaim their Rugby World Cup crown.

  1. New Zealand
  2. France
  3. Ireland
  4. South Africa
  5. Australia
  6. England